Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Watch out for go.google malware virus  (Read 480 times)
Cygnus
Proud Nikon Shooter
Global Moderator
Light Art tragic
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« on: December 16, 2008, 07:08:31 PM »

Hey folks,

Last week I picked up the ugly virus go.google
It begins as simply annoying causing all of your web searches to be redirected randomly. It only gets ugly from there. In the end, I could not import or export anything from my laptop. It began freezing even in safe mode.
I had to completely restore the system to get it up and running again. McAfee and Norton were no good, and did not even recognize the malware.
Thankfully I have my files on my desktop so I only lost the favorites that I use here on my laptop. Nothing to lose sleep over. There are a few fixes for this virus if you catch it in time. Unfortunately for me I did not realize it until I could not download anything or upload anything. On the last day, my computer would not even recognize my D drive or memory sticks.
So after an hour restoring my system and uploading photos, files, software and trying to remember my favorites I can finally use the laptop again.

It is easy enough to know once you have it, all your searches turn randomly into whatever website is in the cycle. Be careful...
Report to moderator   Logged

D3 -Nikkor-Sigma-Tamron-Alien Bees-Pro Foto-SB900-SB600-Kenko-and much more...
Truckman
Global Moderator
Light Art tragic
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 670


Just a poor but honest retired gun dealer...


« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2008, 07:12:26 PM »

Any idea where it came from, Steve?...I don't even look at email anymore unless I recognize the sender...Ben
Report to moderator   Logged

β€œIt must be mounted on a tripod!...It must be mounted on a tripod!” – Cmdr. Frederick Mohr
Cygnus
Proud Nikon Shooter
Global Moderator
Light Art tragic
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 806



WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2008, 07:55:23 PM »

I got it from google earth. Came in the backdoor
Report to moderator   Logged

D3 -Nikkor-Sigma-Tamron-Alien Bees-Pro Foto-SB900-SB600-Kenko-and much more...
admin
Mark J - admin
Administrator
Light Art tragic
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,812



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2008, 08:22:30 PM »

OOer,

Also watch out for the fake Payal and Google member notices, requesting that you update your account details. The genuine looking links are backed by a url link to lookalike home pages.
When you login, they have captured your details.
(when you hover over the diplayed link you will see that the url varies to that shown).
Report to moderator   Logged

Mark Johnson - site admin
Find art in light, shadow, texture and form
www.ozlifestylephotography.com.au
Analog6
I always shoot Raw!
Global Moderator
Light Art tragic
*****
Offline Offline

Awards:
Winner: June Theme Challenge
Posts: 4,132


Visit my blog - http://odillesphotos.wordpress.com


WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2008, 01:09:54 PM »

There is a fake notice (via email phishing) from St George circulating saying they have deposited money into your account, $100 or $200 from 'name given' and please click on this link to check your details.

We got it at work where we DO get direct deposits, but it looked 'wrong' so I emailed St George from their website and they sent one back thanking me for alerting them, they thought they had killed that one and it has bobbed back up again.

Beware - they are getting sneakier. A novice would have been fooled and thought 'who's this putting money in' and might have well clicked on the link, which was what alerted me of course.
Report to moderator   Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: